Higher Education Governance Defined

In Alabama, higher education governance is divided into two distinct functions: inter-institution coordination facilitated by the Alabama Commission on Higher Education (ACHE) and institutional/system operations facilitated by boards of trustees.

  • University of Alabama Trustees govern UA, UAB, and UAH
  • Auburn University Trustees govern AU, AUM, and the the Agricultural Experimental Stations and the Cooperative Extension Service
  • Alabama Community Colleges Trustees govern all of the state public community and technical colleges
  • All other institutions (public and private) have their own set of trustees
Skip to content