Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR)

The Alabama Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) is a family of competitive, merit-based programs sponsored in Alabama by the State and National Science Foundation, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the Department of Energy, the Department of Defense, Department of Agriculture, and the Environmental Protection Agency.

A state steering committee provides oversight to the activities of EPSCoR.  Membership on this committee, in addition to the research institutions, includes the following state agencies:  the Alabama Commission on Higher Education (ACHE), and the Economic Development Partnership of Alabama (EDPA).   Day to day activities are administered by a State Executive Director and staff as well as the independent Program Directors who operate each of the statewide federal agency programs.   Member institutions include:

  • Alabama A&M University
  • Auburn University
  • Tuskegee University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of Alabama in Huntsville
  • University of South Alabama


Skip to content